About Slow Food Denver

Slow Food Denver is a chapter of Slow Food U.S.A., a global, grassroots movement that links the pleasures of growing, cooking, and eating food with the community and environment. Slow Food was founded in Italy in 1986, and inspired chapters in 160 countries worldwide, with 100 in the U.S. Slow Food Denver, founded in 2001, is committed to the enjoyment of local food by all members of the community, seeking to create a more just and sustainable food system. We value cultivating community and connection, restoring biodiversity, celebrating food cultures, defending social and economic equality, and protecting the environment. 

Our programs and activities revolve around creating food access and awareness for healthy, local food in the Denver Metro area. 

Areas of focus include:

1) Children and food

2) Local food producers and regional food traditions  

3) Just and sustainable food policy

We believe that our everyday choices, starting with what we eat and feed others, can contribute to a better future for the generations to come.

Denver Metro Area consists of ten Colorado counties: the City and County of Denver, Arapahoe County, Jefferson County, Adams County, Douglas County, the City and County of Broomfield, Elbert County, Park County, Clear Creek County, and Gilpin County.